1. Home
  2. IAD Insight - 2018
  3. IAD Insight May 2018

IAD Insight May 2018

The State of New Mexico Indian Affairs Department

There are 23 Indian tribes located in New Mexico – nineteen Pueblos, three Apache tribes (the Fort Sill Apache Tribe, the Jicarilla Apache Nation and the Mescalero Apache Tribe), and the Navajo Nation, and a considerable urban Indian population which is also served by the Indian Affairs Department. The nineteen Pueblos are comprised of the Pueblos of Acoma, Cochiti, Isleta, Jemez, Laguna, Nambe, Ohkay Owingeh, Picuris, Pojoaque, Sandia, San Felipe, San Ildefonso, Santa Ana, Santa Clara, Santo Domingo, Taos, Tesuque, Zia and Zuni. Each Tribe is a sovereign nation with its own government, life-ways, traditions, and culture; and each tribe has a unique relationship with the federal and state governments. The IAD Insight helps to keep you apprised as to what IAD has been involved in or has taken part in. We hope you enjoy!

Read More